Complete Newbie Needs Help

I’m new to Spokestack (as of 5 minutes ago) and am trying to get some general information. I want to port a specific Alexa skill (NLU) to a mobile app using React Native and Spokestack. Can someone provide me with an outline of the steps that it will take to accomplish this? Also, do I need to have good coding skills to do this? (Note: I don’t have good coding skills…). Thanks!

Welcome, Stephen, and thanks for reaching out.

You will need to have some coding experience to complete your project. In general, more code goes into a mobile app than a smart speaker skill—you’ll want a functional UI that handles gestures, for example.

The good news, though, is that Spokestack has a UI library that can help you put together a prototype of your experience without making a custom UI. It’s called Spokestack Tray. The readme will help you get started, but there’s more information about everything in our documentation; here’s the link to the section for the React Native Tray.

You can start out with a blank screen behind the tray; it’ll let you run through your entire experience and give you a text-based history of the conversation as you go. You can then elaborate the UI as you get more comfortable.

For the NLU piece, we support direct conversion of the Alexa interaction model format; see our export instructions for a step-by-step process.

Hope this helps! If you have more specific questions as you get into the process, you might want to browse or post in the React Native category.

To summarize, here’s the order I’d do things in:

1. Convert your NLU model. (I put this one first because conversion isn’t instantaneous, so you can move on with the rest while it’s happening.)
  2. Set up a new React Native app.
  3. Add a dependency on Spokestack Tray.
  4. Following the sample code in the example app or our docs, swap in the URLs to your converted NLU model files.
  5. Run the app (if on Android, use a physical device to test voice interactions).